Vietnam Introduces Universal E-Visa Program for All Countries

Vietnam Introduces Universal E-Visa Program for All Countries

Vietnam has made the decision to grant e-visas to citizens from all countries and territories starting from August 15, as stated in a government resolution issued on Monday. Previously, Vietnam had only been providing 30-day single-entry e-visas to citizens of 80 countries. Under the new e-visa system, administered by the Vietnam Immigration Department through the electronic transaction system, foreigners will be eligible for multiple entries within a 90-day period.

Thirteen airports, including Noi Bai, Tan Son Nhat, Cam Ranh, Da Nang, Cat Bi, Can Tho, Phu Quoc, Phu Bai, Van Don, Tho Xuan, Dong Hoi, Phu Cat, and Lien Khuong, will accept e-visas for entry and exit. Additionally, 16 land border gates and 13 sea border gates will also allow the use of e-visas for entry and exit.

In another development, the government has decided to extend the duration of stays in Vietnam from 15 to 45 days for citizens of 13 countries that are unilaterally exempted from visas by Vietnam. These countries include Germany, France, Italy, Spain, the U.K., Northern Ireland, Russia, Japan, South Korea, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, and Belarus. Regardless of passport type and purpose of entry, citizens from these countries will now be permitted to stay for 45 days from the time of entry.

The extension of the visa duration and the expansion of the e-visa program aim to attract tourism, investment, business cooperation, and scientific research, aligning with the National Assembly’s approval in June.

Sign In


Reset Password

Please enter your username or email address, you will receive a link to create a new password via email.